Making of a Lap Quilt – New Product Sneak Peek

As well as my oatmeal-y baby quilt, I have spent this week working on a lap/throw size quilt in gorgeous berry colours. This is going to make the perfect snuggle quilt now the nights are drawing in and autumn is on it’s way (sad face for the end of summer, but snuggles under quilts are the best).

Image

1 – 8 = A selection of the beautiful Japanese fabrics bought from Fabric Inspirations. I fell in love with the little creatures depicted on the cloth – tiny owls, bunnies and dragonflies. Cute but subtle, and suitable for children and adults alike!

9 = Norton, helping me cut out the many blocks 😉

10 = Laying the patchwork squares out on the bed as I didn’t have room on the floor! This wasn’t the final layout I decided on, but it’s not far off.

11 = Quilting the straight lines didn’t get off to the best start and had me reaching for the seam ripper. It took me a couple of hours to get it right….

12 = Hurrah! Finally got the quilting to behave how I wanted it to and got myself into a rhythm with the help of my new walking foot.

13 = Nearly there!

14 = Sewing the very last row….only the binding to do now. Stay tuned for the finished quilt!

L xx

Leave a comment

Filed under quilts

Leave a Reply

