Love Patchwork & Quilting Issue 6, and a Friday finish

LQP06.cover_uk.inddI don’t buy many magazines. It’s not that I don’t enjoy reading them, it’s just that I only ever seem to find the time when I’m travelling somewhere, and more often than not I’ll reach for a book instead. Love Patchwork & Quilting magazine is an exception though. This relatively new magazine is one that I look forward to every month and make time to sit down and read cover to cover because it is packed with fabulously fresh content and inspiration. Being asked to contribute not one, but two(!) projects to a magazine that I love and read regularly was, quite frankly effing awesome, and I am humbled to be featured alongside some of my quilting peers who I have respected and followed for some time now. Excited much?!

I have already finished my copy whilst enjoying a sneaky coffee and a wafer. Here is a little sneak peek of what you can expect in Issue 6 (on sale NOW!), which includes how-to’s for adorable mice from Jo Carter, a beautiful cathedral window quilt and matching cushion from Jo Avery, sweet little scented-sachets from Karen Lewis, a fussy cut mini-quilt from Laura Jane Taylor and much more!

DSC_0083love Collage1

Alongside all these awesome projects is my little applique petal cushion (which got a little mention on the cover, eep!) and scrappy diamonds baby quilt which I originally designed as a commission last year for a lady who wanted a quilt made from her son’s old baby clothes. It’s a great project for using up any scrap pieces of fabric so why not get your paws on the mag and give it a go? Or, if you don’t fancy making them yourself, both finished items will be up in the shop soon.

love Collage2DSC_0100

Well, you can see what Norton thinks of it. Perhaps this is his way of showing me how proud he is? Or, it could be that he’s wondering why that pretty black cat is on the cover instead of him…?

I did also get some work done this week. Although I’ve been distracted from finishing my Safari Moon baby quilt, I was quite happy to get a couple of Etsy orders ticked off my growing list. A lovely customer from Ireland asked me to personalise my Tutti Fruitti quilt for her niece, and also make a mini-quilt for her brand new baby nephew. Immediately I knew this would be another excuse to use Francis Newcombe’s Safari Moon collection. So out came my embroidery needles and floss (it’s been a long time since I embroidered anything!) and today I finished off these two little baby gifts. Pretty cute, huh?

frank CollageDSC_0015wrapped Collage

Oh, if you’re wondering what the hell that weird brown creature is, that’s a banana leaf rhino we picked up from a local craftswoman in Kenya – thought it was fitting 😉 L xx

2 Comments

Filed under Inspiration, press, quilts

2 responses to “Love Patchwork & Quilting Issue 6, and a Friday finish

  1. Pingback: Dimple Stitch - The Blog

  2. Thanks , I have recently been searching for information about this topic
    for a long time and yours is the greatest I have came upon till now.
    However, what in regards to the bottom line? Are you certain in regards to the source?

Leave a Reply

