My busy working week

I can’t believe it’s been a week since I last blogged, the days are just whizzing by at the moment! To be honest I didn’t have much time to write any posts, and it was kind of a shitty week so any posts would have quite likely turned into a pity party anyway!

DSC_0142Some quilts seem to practically make themselves. It can be a total breeze and I can pretty much zone out and let my hands do the work. Other quilts just seem to simply not want to get finished and that was the case this week! My list of works-in-progress, and to-do quilts was already at 6 (!) and then I got three personalised NOTHS orders through, and these have to be turned around very quickly and so always end up jumping the queue. Usually they are very straightforward to make, but the quilting gods were against me this week and everything was going wrong. My needles kept falling out and breaking randomly, my sewing machine tension went crazy and was looping, and then I made the mistake of trying to make binding with a throbbing headache, and cut all of the fabric straight-of-grain instead of on the bias as I totally wasn’t thinking properly and wasted the whole lot and had to order some more. The list of issues I faced is as long as my arm! There was lots of swearing and and throwing things around and generally being a grumpy so-and-so which meant I didn’t get any pictures of the finished quilts or many good in-progress ones to show you either. Needless to say, it was a relief to get these orders sent off though!

DSC_0159This weekend has been much better though. I got my hair done for the first time in over a year and a half and now I feel all light and spring-like! I’ve also managed to make a start on some blocks for the next custom baby quilt, and am really pleased with how they are coming together. Don’t those foxes make the best print? Hard to stay grumpy when working with awesome fabrics like that. Plus, sewing in the sunshine next to an open window with a sunbathing cat on the window sill is a lovely way to spend an afternoon. Very glad to have my mojo back after a bad week. Hurrah! L x

march16 Collage2march16 Collage3DSC_0181DSC_0175

 

2 Comments

Filed under Me, quilts

2 responses to “My busy working week

  1. I think we all have weeks like that, sometimes it’s better to put everything down, walk away, take a few deep breaths, find a room where you can lock the door and scream and swear like bloody crazy. When you come out again you feel so much better, although you may get a few funny looks from the neighbours next time you see them. Glad things are back on track now, the fox fabric is fab and your cat is gorgeous. Lindax

    • Thanks Linda, they can’t all be good weeks I suppose. I like your screaming idea, our neighbours make their own fair share of strange noises (teenage twins!) so it wouldn’t be too out of place! Xx

Leave a comment