Hello, Charley!

I have been a big fan of Charley Harper’s art for some time, so imagine my joy when I found out Birch Fabrics had turned some of his illustrations into a fabric collection. If that wasn’t exciting enough, I had a lovely customer wanting to use it in a custom quilt design. I jumped at the opportunity and these beauties arrived on my doorstep yesterday. I’m raring to cut into these, but I’d also like to look at and stroke them for a little while. That’s normal, right?DSC_0258 charley1 CollageHarper’s unique strong graphic style and wildlife theme translates beautifully onto fabric and the result is a bold, colourful collection that I cannot wait to get started with. I love the use of primary colours, and against a white background these prints are really going to pop. It’s hard to choose just one, but I think the red cardinals on the white background has to be my favourite print, as for me, this is his most iconic image. Wouldn’t it make the coolest wallpaper too?

DSC_0273 DSC_0278

I’ll leave you with some words from the man himself:

“When I look at a wildlife or nature subject, I don’t see the feathers in the wings, I just count the wings. I see exciting shapes, color combinations, pattern, textures, fascinating behavior and endless possibilities for making interesting pictures. I regard the picture as an ecosystem in which all the elements are interrelated, interdependent, perfectly balanced, without trimming or unutilized parts; and herein lies the lure of painting; in a world of chaos, the picture is one small rectangle in which the artist can create an ordered universe.” Source: Wikipedia

Thanks Charley, it’s simply wonderful! L x

1 Comment

Filed under Fabric, quilts

One response to “Hello, Charley!

  1. Pingback: Charley Boy – Honking Big Quilt 2 | Dimple Stitch - The Blog

Leave a Reply

