Foxes in Boxes – A finished baby quilt

I’ve been wanting to show you this finished baby quilt for some time now but wanted to keep it under wraps until I had given it to it’s new home, which I was thrilled to do yesterday. Please excuse our unkempt lawn, the hens like it that way (at least, that’s the excuse I’m sticking to!).

Some of you might remember that I made a matching patchwork cushion for the same nursery some weeks back, and I loved being able to use these fabrics again for the quilt. I am just so in love with the colours, which I think are both traditional and modern at the same time. I’ve used a similar quilt design in the past for a baby-girl quilt, but the final look was really quite different. I love that about patchwork.

This quilt features a mixture of both stitch-in-the-ditch quilting and a meandering stipple, which really makes the squares pop, and helps soften the effect of all the straight lines and sharp corners. I really enjoy adding different textures to a quilt in this way.

collage1 DSC_0318 copyCollage2DSC_0339 copy

The quilt ended up a fair bit larger than I had originally planned, but hopefully this means it will last the little bean for many, many years and that he won’t grow out of it anytime soon. I can’t wait for his arrival in the coming weeks and to meet the little fella. I’m sure I won’t be able to resist posting more pics with him snuggled in it soon (though the hens will be most upset about being displaced as models!).

L xx

3 Comments

Filed under quilts

3 responses to “Foxes in Boxes – A finished baby quilt

  1. Pingback: Work in progress – a little HST quilt, just ‘cuz | Dimple Stitch - The Blog

  2. Brooke

    Love this!! Do you know the name of the fabric with the foxes in bow ties and argyle?

    • Hi Brooke – thanks for your comment! I can’t remember the exact name of the print but I do know that it was a Robert Kaufman fabric… Sorry I can’t be more specific but hope that helps a little… L xx

Leave a Reply

