Work in progress – a little HST quilt, just ‘cuz

DSC_0253 copygrey CollageCommissions have been keeping me very busy over the few weeks (not that I’m complaining!) and it feels like it’s been ages since I could just mess around on my machine and sew for the sake of sewing with no deadlines to work to or pressure to follow an exact design. This weekend I hit my stash and just pulled out a few fabrics to start playing around with. Grey, blue and yellow were the colours I felt drawn to, possibly on my radar due to the lovely little foxy quilt I finished recently. I fancied something easy as a warm up to spark my creativity for something more complex and HSTs (half-square-triangles for those of you who don’t know quilt-speak) were the order of the day and with the Nashville soundtrack on in the background (yes, it’s my guilty pleasure. Actually, I don’t even feel guilty about it!), I enjoyed churning these out by the dozen. I arranged them freestyley and whipped up a good few blocks in a couple of hours. Now I just need to choose a backing and binding and then I should have this little quilt finished in no time.

DSC_0266 copyDSC_0272 copyAnd, since these colours have inspired me, I thought I’d put together a little moodboard to see if they can inspire you too. I’ve found all sorts of lovelies on Etsy and Pinterest and particularly love that art print centre-right, both my fiance and I are prone to the hunger-rage…

greyblueyellow CollageTop row: Vintage yellow stool // Purdy grey pumps // Pretty nature photography

Middle row: Triangle studs // Antique chair // Cute art print

Bottom row: Grey knitted slippers // Porcelain poppy bowl // Styling with branches

 

1 Comment

Filed under Fabric, quilts

One response to “Work in progress – a little HST quilt, just ‘cuz

  1. Esther

    What a lovely mood board- love the colours, kind of beachy, sand sky and pebbles. Delicious fabrics, love the randomised HSTs.

Leave a Reply

