Scrappy squares in squares in squares…

I’ve been a busy bee this week. It’s been the first time in a long time that I’ve had a chance to make a new quilt for the shop as I’ve been so busy with commissions. This week I was lucky enough to have a little window between custom orders and managed to bash out this bad boy.

I wanted to make something stash-busting and had a lot of fun rediscovering some prints I had tucked away that hadn’t seen the light in a while. The more the merrier was my motto for this quilt, and I was pretty nondiscriminatory in choosing prints, only avoiding anything too gender or age specific.

DSC_0795 Collage1

Cutting all the pieces took bloody ages – 48 squares, 192 small triangles and 192 large triangles! Phew. A bit of swamp-rock on the itunes and several hours and cups of tea later, I was ready to get sewing.Collage3Trimming blocks is my least favourite part of quilt-making, and when working with triangles, trimming is pretty key. This can be the point I lose interest and go and do something else but I pushed through – good thing this quilt made such pretty off-cuts!

Collage2I changed my mind three times(!) about how to quilt this one, which meant getting pretty friendly with my unpicker. In the end I decided to keep it simple by echoing the seams, as the pattern was busy enough as it was.

So, whaddya think? I’ve named it “Break The Night With Colour” and it measures 40″ x 55″ which is a pretty universal size – you can use it as a bay quilt, child playmat/end-of-bed quilt and even a little lap quilt for your favourite armchair.

This quilt is available in my shop now, claim it before the cats do!

Collage4Collage5L xx

2 Comments

Filed under Fabric, quilts

2 responses to “Scrappy squares in squares in squares…

  1. Great Blog..Stopped over to say hello and check it out via Etsy..:) Stop over and see us when you get a chance http://secondspringnaturals.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

