October works in progress

September into October sees the start of my busy period as the weeks begin to escalate towards Christmas. I’ve already shown you the twin Liberty quilts I finished up, but in recent weeks I’ve also made a bright and boyish quilt for a little chap named Ben, another commission for the fabulous Love Patchwork & Quilting magazine (under wraps for now, but keep an eye out for Issue 16…), reached my 100 sales milestone thanks to a NOTHS order, started two new baby quilts, a lap quilt too and worked on projects for three graphic design clients! Phew. As you can imagine, my workspace isn’t the tidiest ever right now…

My first work-in-progress is a baby quilt for a lovely repeat client of mine. As soon as she mentioned the words ‘woodland fabrics’, I was all over this project like cat hair on a black sweater.

Toadstools, birds, foxes and the most irresistible metallic deer & tree fabric is a recipe for a happy Laura. Muted, neutral and autumnal, I can’t wait to get this clamshell quilt finished up for one very lucky little boy.

Collage2 Collage1

While waiting for some of the materials to arrive for the woodland quilt, I also cut into a gorgeous stack of fabrics which I’ve been collecting for some time. There are fabrics from all sorts of summer collections here; Grey Abbey by Elizabeth Olwen, Littlest from AGF Studio, September Blue by Susan Driscoll, Cotton+Steel basics, Arizona by April Rhodes (more metallic, yay!), Mormor by Lotta Jansdotter, the list goes on. The stack has been sitting and taunting me for weeks now, and I’d been dying to take my rotary cutter to it, but not without taking some lovely photos in the autumn sunlight first, of course.

DSC_0433CollageACollageBMmmmm, mustard, mint and grey – perfection! And this, my mostest favouritest, low-volume print ever (at least for the time being….). Yes I know, I’m so predictable…

DSC_0443

Leave a comment

Filed under Fabric, quilts

Leave a Reply

