Friday Fright-night Finish

Happy Halloween guys! I must admit I am not a big fan of this holiday – I loathe fancy dress and am just a wee bit terrified of the gangs of kids that come knocking on our door (I’ve had a bad experience in the past!), many of which don’t even bother with costumes and just stand there with their hands out expecting free sweets. What I can get on board with, though, is this gorgeous autumn weather we’ve been having and I love that it’s November tomorrow and still relatively warm. I think I’m getting over my sadness at summer ending.

This week I’ve finished not one, but FIVE projects. I KNOW! Three of them are just diddy but I’m still really pleased to have them ticked off my list and be on top of my work schedule again. The quilt I’m going to share with you today is perfectly seasonal – warm browns, golds and greys, woodland themed fabrics and snuggle-central make this a very autumnal quilt. I must admit that if this didn’t have a little boy’s name on it, I would have found this one hard to give up.

Clamshell quilts are among my favourites. When one of my all time favourite quilts, ‘Octopus’s Garden’ was sold this summer I did feel a little sad to see it go. So, I was over the moon when my customer chose this design from the 6 different ones I sent her. One of these days I’ll make my own clamshell quilt.Collage1 Collage2 Collage3I’m still obsessing over the little touches of metallic gold in the deer print, and the little toadstools on the back are to die for. Doesn’t it make you want the weather to get colder?! I’ve named this quilt ‘Far From Any Road’ after the Handsome Family song (one for all the True Detective fans out there!). I hope little Theodore enjoys his birthday present 🙂

Collage4

Leave a comment

Filed under Fabric, quilts

Leave a Reply

