Mustard and mint, a yummy combo

Phew, we’ve survived Halloween (almost, still have a party to attend this evening but I’m being a grump and not wearing a costume…).

I’m excited to share with you today my second baby quilt finish of the week. As previously mentioned, I’d been collecting these fabrics for some time, originally planning to make a Grey Abbey quilt but slowly adding and swapping out more and more fabrics from other collections until I think there were only 3 Grey Abbey prints remaining. Mustard is a pretty common colour in my wardrobe, and I was really pleased to see it popping up in fabric trends this spring and summer. It’s such a diverse colour which goes great with navy or brown, corals and peaches, and as in this quilt, mint and grey. I love these colours so much, I’ve already started using some of the scraps in a new lap quilt!

I didn’t take any pictures during the making of this quilt. I was totally in the zone and the quilt came together so quickly that it practically made itself. The patchwork was pretty straightforward, and then I quilted in it straight lines, 1″ apart, and bound it to finish with a cute blush Flurry print. I’ve lost count how many hours of sewing I’ve racked up this week but I’ve enjoyed making something without a deadline. The finished quilt will be available in the shop later this weekend – as you’ll see, Kira’s taken quite a shine to it though, so hopefully someone will snap it up before she claims it for herself…Collage1 DSC_0883 Collage2DSC_0916DSC_0927

Leave a comment

Filed under Fabric, quilts

Leave a Reply

