The one where she actually blogs! Catch up – Part 1

Well, I’m not sure if anyone is still here (I don’t even have an excuse for my absence – I guess I lost my blogging mojo in recent months. I’m not sure it’s fully back but we’ll see how it goes), but I thought we were well overdue a little catch up!

So, Happy New Year and all that! Seems daft saying it now as we’re well into February and the holiday season is but a distant memory, but it would be rude not to acknowledge it. I hope everyone has had a great start to the year. Ours has been mixed – as owners of an old Victorian house, winter brings with it all kinds of problems and this year has been especially problematic. Leaking pipes just before Christmas meant taking apart half our kitchen and only having running water for about 1hr a day for a couple weeks while we waited for insurance companies and plumbers to get back to work. There were also guttering problems (which was fixed twice, due to decent tradesmen being like unicorns) and now a wall needs repointing as there are huge holes in the brickwork causing mould in the bathroom. Joy of joys. On top of this our big softy, Norton, has developed cystitis as a recurring problem and I think we have an interloping cat which is stressing him out, so we’ve had several trips to the vet and lots of moping from him. Poor chap.

In better news, we hit the January sales in true married-couple fashion, and treated ourselves to a luffly new sofa. This inspired us to redecorate the living room – knocking out a broken window-seat in the bay window that had been there since we moved in and taking the plunge and painting one of the walls a dark charcoal blue. It looks great and has really opened up the space and given it a new lease of life, which needs to be done every once in a while.

A happy coincidence is that the sofa also makes a great backdrop for my products and so I’ve spent the last couple of weeks re-photographing my current stock, to freshen up my Etsy store front.

corvette4collage1

And of course I’ve been busy sewing. Pet quilts have proved popular since Christmas and my Notonthehighstreet.com shop is keeping me busy and I have a couple of custom orders on the books through Etsy too. Between all this, I’ve managed to squeeze in a few new products which are all currently available on Etsy.

Safari Moon

This was a work in progress that I started a LONG time ago (see original blog posts about it here and here), and at some point it got tidied away in a box and forgotten about for several months. It was so close to being finished that I was surprised I hadn’t done so months ago as it’s actually become a favourite of mine. I’ve been a huge fan of Frances Newcombe’s Safari Moon range from the start, and that love for the colours, the zebras and the traditional inspired prints has not faded. The finished project is a cute little baby quilt, which I think could work for both little girls and little boys.

moon1Collage2

Winter Birds

This quilt was born out of me wanting to put together a quick project between obligation sewing. I had a stack of grey-blue and low-volume linen prints that I had wanted to use for some time, but felt it needed something else. A little injection of red from my stash and this quilt practically made itself. More traditional than many of my quilts, but they say variety is the spice of life. Another boy-friendly, but also gender-neutral quilt available for sale now.

winter2Collage3

Southern Point

This mini quilt is a recent finish. As part of my New Year’s sewing resolution, I’m trying to use up as much of what I already have in my stash before buying new fabric (which is both torture and a great challenge at the same time!). I wanted to design something with just a couple of colours so I turned to Pinterest to find inspiration for a colour palette and then pulled these four fabrics from my stash. Foundation paper piecing is my latest obsession so I drew up a quick design on the computer and completed the whole thing in a day. It’s been a long time since I designed, cut, pieced, quilted and bound (by hand, no less!) all in one sitting but it felt great and I’m so pleased with the result. I’d like to make a lot more in this style.point1Collage4There is still a lot more to show and tell, so stayed tuned for part 2. In the meantime you can buy any of these quilts here, and if you’d like to see what I’m up to more regularly, find me on Instagram with the handle @lauradimplestitch . L xxx

Leave a comment

Filed under quilts

Leave a Reply

