Secret Sewing

In my head, it had been about six weeks since I wrote a blog post, so I was horrified to see it’s been double that! My blogging has really slowed down this last year, partly out of being busy with other things, but also because a lot of what I’ve been working on has been top secret!

Finally, I can reveal one of these hush-hush projects which I made way back in April now ,for this month’s Love Patchwork & Quilting mag. LP&Q have teamed up with The Cotton Patch to launch The Cotton Club, a new monthly pattern with a fabric kit you can buy to make the quilt yourself. It’s a fab idea and I was thrilled to be asked to design this bright quilt featuring hot and spicy Kaffe Fassett prints. It never gets old seeing your work in print alongside so many other brilliant quilters, so I was full of beans when my contributor’s copy landed on my door mat this morning.

kfCollage1kf1

I used my favourite ever text print for the back, and now I almost love the back more than the front! I love how these fabrics play together. Need to panic-buy some more of this Carolyn Friedlander print. I can’t get enough of it…kfCollage2kf Collage3

Norton especially loves how they’ve styled my quilt for the mag, and can’t wait to get it back so he can roll all over the real thing. First though, it’s taking a trip to Birmingham for the Festival of Quilts next weekend, so if you plan on going, stop by the LP&Q stall for a good look 🙂 See you there! L xx

lpq1lpqCollage

For more regular updates, follow me on Instagram – @lauradimplestitch

9 Comments

Filed under press, quilts

9 responses to “Secret Sewing

  1. oh my, I love the bright colors!! and that text print is heavenly…I.MUST.BUY.SOME!

  2. As I scrolled down I saw the very bright fabrics and felt they were just too much. BUT as I scrolled further and saw what you did with this fabric – wow! Love it! Using the white to frame the shapes makes it zingy and creates cohesion in the piece. Fabulous!

    • Hi Eileen, thanks so much for your comment and your kind words! It was my first time working with Kaffe Fassett fabrics for that very reason – I felt a little overwhelmed by using so much colour! I’m glad I did though, it was good to break out of my comfort zone 🙂

  3. Hi Laura! this quilt is so beautiful. Love the colorful fabrics combination and the white contrast. Of course, this scribble fabric is gorgeous and makes the quilt looks great!! where can i find the pattern? (I see that i can buy the quilt kit at the cotton patch shop, but it doesn’t include the scribble fabric for the back, is there any online shop where I can find it?) thank you. I would like to make a quilt with this pattern using cultivate fabrics by bonnie christine (i adore her new fabric line!!). Really nice blog and amazing work! congrats 😉
    Alex from @alextilalila

    • Hi Alex!

      Thanks so much for your comment – I’m afraid I don’t remember exactly where I got the text print from as it was several months back now, however if you Google ‘Carolyn Friedlander Scribble fabric’, I’m sure it will turn up? It’s one of her older ranges but I think there is still some around.

      I too ADORE the Cultivate line, and think it would work beautifully in this quilt! I love Bonnie Christine’s designs. Please do show me if you make it, would love to see it! Best of luck 🙂 xx

  4. Leah

    Hello Laura!
    I just got my hands on a copy of LPQ Issue 24 down here in Australia and I love your Summer Berry Quilt! I have some Kaffe Fassett fat quarters that I have been saving for something special. I was wondering if you had any tips on how to upsize the pattern to yield a bigger quilt?
    Thank you!
    Leah 🙂

    • Hi Leah,

      Thanks so much for your message – it’s so lovely to hear you like it and are planning on making it 🙂

      It would easily size up into a larger quilt simply by adding extra blocks to the columns before adding the half-square triangle to square it up, and then adding more columns to make it wider. The easiest thing would be doubling all the fabric requirements and making twice as many blocks, but if you need help calculating fabric for a specific size, just drop me an email and I’ll be happy to help – hello@dimplestitch.co.uk

      Good luck, I’d love to see it when you’re done! L xx

Leave a Reply

